curns' corner

By curns

Jabbed

In my diary entry last week, when I wrote about the vaccination booking, I noted, “The strangest thing is that, when I received it, I was giddy with genuine excitement” and now today’s the day.  And it was remarkably easy, quick and professional. And still a little exciting.

PY accompanied me on the walk and I left him at the entrance to The Nelson Health Centre. He said he’d go and get a coffee and wait to hear from me. If I was going to be a while I’d let him know. I entered and was met by a friendly lady who asked me some screening questions and gave me a ticket: the kind you get from a supermarket delicatessen queue. C17.  I told her I was excited to be here and she replied that it was quite a common reaction.

Three steps later I am giving my details to two people at a table in the reception area. There’s no queue and no sign of other patients although there were some people behind me at the entrance and I assume they will come in shortly. I am ticked off a list and given a vaccination card and a leaflet about the possible side effects. I’m getting Astra Zeneca. I am asked a few identifying details and I answer some more questions about the procedure.  I follow the stickers on the floor. It’s about twenty steps to the end of the corridor.

I am met by another person (I don’t know if they are volunteers or staff but they are all friendly). I am told there’s no wait and I can pick any Consulting Room but he suggests Room 2 because I am being waved at by a lady who is stood at the entrance. I head in that direction. I doubt it’s another twenty steps.

As soon as I enter, I am taking my coat off and confirming my name, answering some of the same questions again to confirm I am still me, and I am asked about allergic reactions to vaccines (I don’t have any).  As soon as all this is finished she is stood in front me checking that I am happy to have the injection in my left arm. I agree and I look to one side because, while I don’t mind needles, I don’t really like watching them go in me. I feel a small scratch. It’s done and I am walking out of the door around a minute after I entered.

Turn right to leave via the back, stop to say thanks to the lady by the door. She confirms that I am not driving and, therefore, I don’t have to sit to check for any immediate reaction. I get a ‘I’ve had my COVID Vaccination’ sticker. I am out of the building. I didn’t need C17.

End-to-end this might have been two minutes. I ring PY, he’s not even ordered his coffee yet.  I place my oder and we walk home.  Now to wait until I am contacted about the second dose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.