curns' corner

By curns

Evening

After the giddy excitement of yesterday; something of a return to earth.  I am one of the 1-in10 people who got some side effects. They began around 12 hours after the vaccination when I started to ache all over. But it was late when it started and I went to bed. They’d said this might happen and so I am not worried but it’s a shame.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t sleep because I got the chills in the early hours and found it hard to get warm.  And, I kept rolling over onto the injection point which was uncomfortable. So, I had a bad night which I think added to the lousy way I felt for most of the day.

By the time the morning came around I was suffering from flu-like symptoms but without the congestion and running nose.  I had shivers, a headache and ached.  I managed to do a little bit of work and took lots of fluids as recommended. I didn’t really mention it to anybody at work but I was very quiet on all the conference calls.  Luckily, there were not many and I had sufficient energy to respond to emails. 

However, by 4:30pm I couldn’t go on and so went to bed for a couple of hours.  When I woke, I didn’t feel that much better but I did feel rested. I decided to try a get some air and exercise because I feared not being tired enough to sleep another night because I’d slept so late in the day.  So I took a walk, struck by the fact the streets were deserted. I came home, ate and went to bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.