Martindale

In the distance you can see the red roof of The Bungalow built in 1910 by the Earl of Lonsdale for a visit from Kaiser Wilhelm.

I spent far too much time scouring old maps and records relating to my square this morning and got sidetracked by the Rerrick Poltergeist that threw a lot of stones and hot peats at people and sounded like a proper vandal. Even finding the tooth from an unknown creature under the door threshold and burning it on the fire (as instructed by the witch-wife) didn't seem to do the trick ... quite honestly, I really don’t know why they didn’t go up the road (beyond my square ... not that I’m in a huff, or anything) and get some holy water from Kirkmirran’s Well.

Then I set about doing some more useful chores and fixed a curtain that I’ve been meaning to tackle for more years than I can recall. I ordered a brioche kit and some Easter chick marshmallows from my friend’s daughter’s new website to send down south for Easter treats. I should have gone and done a food shop but couldn’t face it so headed out for a walk up Pikewassa. There was fresh snow on the tops and those winds were fierce ... my face was so numb I felt like l’d spent the week at the dentists.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.