YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Blustery!

Such a windy day!  Wasn’t sure if it was going to rain, but decided to risk a brisk walk up to the estate.  There were lots of twigs and branches strewn about which must have blown down during the night.  Watched a Moorhen bring food to the nest and feeding the other moorhen - so assuming there are some eggs in there now.  However,  my intention was to see if I could capture the swans in the wind as their feathers had been blowing around yesterday and I was trying to capture that - unsuccessfully!  No luck as most had retreated to the island, but I watched this swan for some time as it appeared to be “playing” with this stone.  It picked up the stone from the bottom of the pond, tried to throw it upwards, let it splash into the water, looked as if wondering where it had gone, and then repeated the process.  It didn’t seem bothered that I was standing right next to it.  The last time my granddaughter was up here with me she fed the swans by hand.  One of the juvenile swans picked up a stone and put it into her hand as if in return for the food.  Perhaps this one was getting the stone as a present for another swan but found it too heavy?  Guess I’ll never know, but  lovely to watch.  Glad to get home though - a tad too breezy for my liking out there!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.