Spies

Is there a word for that expression on Tess's face?
Slightly embarrassed, slightly amused, slightly stern, slightly tolerant, long-suffering perhaps...?

I'd love to find a word that covers that look.

Whatever it is it reminds me of my dad. There's a bit of affection in there too, I think.

It says, "Okay. If you must. As it's you."

To be fair we had just gate-crashed her school trip (such cool parents!) ((not))

She's had 2-days of activities organised by the school and a local outdoor centre. Last night they stayed at the centre and we missed her massively. I also worried that she wouldn't sleep well because she never does.

So when we took Dylan the dog on his usual walk, we were pleased to find the group was having lunch on the beach and we got to walk past them all casually and say hello, and ask if they'd slept, and take a photo, and then casually walk away again.

The headteacher pointed out that we can't just casually turn up and walk the dog on the school trip when they stay on Lundy Island just to spy on Tess.

It can be arranged... ;)

In other news: the broccoli seeds I sowed on ... erm... Sunday? have germinated already and one onion is beginning to grow. I planted about 100 onions so that's a 1% success rate so far. Unless, of course, I only wanted 1 onion and the others were just planted for company, in which case it's a 100% success rate and anything else is a bonus.

I could be a Tory politician, I bullshit so well!

Rich and I sat outside and had lunch. The sun was so warm my legs felt hot in my jeans. The daisy-killing machine made its first outing today and the garden got a bit of attention. We also decided it's time to take the protective net off the trampoline (yes - we're common, trampoline-owning plebs!) ((at least we don't have bonfires)). The protective net is badly ripped and filthy and probably more dangerous than safe now.

As I tried to drag out the time I needed to be in the garden and delay going in to cook tea this evening, I heard lambs bleating and crows calling and the air smelt good. I brought my washing in and saw clouds stacking up in the west. I think it's going to be another lovely day for everyone but us tomorrow. But it was good while it lasted, and it's got things going :)

Richard's just back from a surf club meeting. He's looking ad sounding much better. Because he was out and Tess went to bed really early I decided to play the flute for the first time in ages and ages. I played like a twat but it was nice to fill my lungs with air without coughing. It's almost like the dark, miserable illness-ridden winter never happened.

(Good grief the dog's stomach is currently making scary noises!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.