Pissed off monkey

(Orangutan)

This evening I discovered that TOMORROW Tess is supposed to dress up as a character from a book for World Book Day. Whoops!

So, I suspect like most other unprepared parents of girls, I plumped for Pippi Longstocking.

Tess has long, plaitable hair and stripy tights, and she actually read some Pippi Longstocking stories last week.
Sorted.

Tess looked at some pics on the Internet and pointed out the monkey on Pippi's shoulder. She appeared a few minutes later with an orangutan. He didn't quite look the part, so I made him a hat out of parcel paper and a waistcoat from a Christmas napkin. I don't think he likes them. Maybe it's because I didn't rub out the pencil lines on his hat.

I had my gardening and veg-growing head on again today. I love how the brighter weather and some other unexplainable magic has brought out the sense of urgency and planning in me. The lettuce seeds are germinating and the early potatoes are chitting in the garage (the dirty little beggars). I'm now thinking about how and where I can get more flowers in the garden to attract more wildlife.

Gemma came home with another tattoo today - a yellow rose on her ankle. I said I'll have a proper look in a couple of days when it's less sore. I'm not against her having tattoos in theory but I hate the thought of my child being attacked with sharp needles. Ouch.


I wonder how many other Pippi Longstockings there will be tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.