creative lenna

By creativelenna

Double collage dream . . .

3.27.21 - For #marchollage on Instagram: "a dream of a city" prompt, from poetry by Walt Whitman. I did a digital collage, with a double exposure of 2 photos from a trip I took to Philadelphia in June of 2016. I had to search my photo archives to find these "city" photos that I remembered taking! ;0)

I traveled/flew from FL to my sister's home in CT and then we took a bus/train to get to the city of Philadelphia. Our main purpose was to visit The Barnes Foundation, which has a lot of wonderful artwork including many pieces by my Great Uncle - William Glackens. There is also art at the Barnes by his wife, Edith Dimock Glackens, who is the sister of my grandfather, as well as a few pieces by Lenna Glackens, their daughter!

In 1912, William Glackens traveled to Paris to purchase art for Albert C Barnes. He returned with works by Edgar Degas, Pierre-Auguste Renoir, Paul Cezanne, Vincent Van Gogh, Alfred Maurer, Pierre Bonard, Pablo Picasso and Alfred Sisley. These pieces became the base for the Barnes Collection, now the Barnes Foundation. My sister and I had a wonderful visit there and I loved using these photos I took while walking to and from the Barnes back then - for this "dream of a city" Marchollage prompt this week! I created the double exposure with an app called The Diana Photo Double Exposure App.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.