But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Fire Place.

I don't know how long this tree's been like this, but I'm guessing that with this level of damage it couldn't have survived too long. It is the only one here that has suffered this fate and I'm guessing that either small boys or tramps used to light fires against it over an extended period after the war. I know of several trees with similar damage, there's one in Badocks Wood in Bristol where it is thought that the tree suffered a lightening strike, while others in Roslin Glen suffered from camp fires a long time ago; I'll come back to both of these in future blips.

This particular tree is by the curling pond where I took you a few times last month, the place could do with some litter being removed but it does benefit from a lack of maintenance; trees like this are left to slowly decay and they become, not only photogenic but, wonderful wildlife havens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.