But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Herring Gull.

Some years ago, our beekeeping club established a reputation for its March lectures; while we only have an active membership of a dozen or so, tonight we had an audience of twenty. The subject was "Things to do over winter," not an inspiring subject title, but it was a lot better than it sounded.

There is a story that I sometimes tell: when I first started beekeeping, an old hand advised me to visit all the clubs in the area before deciding which one to join; the key feature to look for was - the one that served the best food after the meetings. As a club, we do rather pride ourselves on the refreshments, hence my need to miss my Wednesday cycle run whenever there's a bee meeting. My cheese sandwiches (with home-made bread) and pickled onions have a high status in local apiarian circles and I did notice our speakers (it was a husband and wife team) making a serious dent in my stock of pickles.

So, not getting out much today, it's a bird-table blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.