CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A pair of sparrowhawks buzzed by two crows

As I walked beside Frampton Court's lake I suddenly saw a commotion in the sky above me. The sun was bright and I couldn't easily track the four birds I could see. I realised that two of the light coloured birds were being mobbed by two crows.

They were flying around and about attacking each other for about a minute. I've chosen this image as it show the two crows separating and each flying very purposefully after one of the other birds, which I now think were sparrowhawks.

I wanted to post this as a record as I've never seen two sparrowhawks together let alone being mobbed. Soon after the hawks flew away and I presume the crows went back to their nests in the big beech trees near the mansion.

For the rest of my visit I loved just standing in the warm sun watching swans, barnacle and greylag geese, coots, tufted ducks, a wagtail and several more swimming birds which I couldn't identify.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.