TucsonJim

By BikerJim

#3 LARIAT

The word of the day for the Dictionary Project is -

lariat
noun -
1. a rope used as a lasso or for tethering.
2. a long noosed rope used to catch animals.
3. a long rope with a running noose at one end,
used to catch horses and cattle.

Stiff manila, cotton or rawhide rope suitable for making a noose at the end. The loop is thrown around the animal's neck or one or more legs while working the cattle on the range. Usually used from horseback and exerting a strong pull by locking the rope around the horn on the pommel of the saddle. The quick-release slipknot used to make the loop is an advantage when loosing an animal.
(lariat, reata, riata, lasso)


The Project lasts for 2 weeks, where each day a word
is randomly selected out of the dictionary, no fudging!
Then by some manner of imagination, that word
is transformed into a photograph associated with
or depicting your interpretation of that word.

If your interested in participating in this Project
check out the Blipfoto Chat Forum/Dictionary Project
and throw your hat into the ring (get on the list) !


Thanks for looking in on me!


*When I wake up in the morning the first thing I do is,
well actually the second thing I do, is grab the dictionary.
Flip open to a page and throw my finger down and
where my digit lands is the word for the day.
No fudging is involved, but this morning I considered it.
There are some pretty weird words in this book.
But I seem to be getting some really cool words.
So to deflect any suspicion that I might be picking
my word, I was going to pick a more difficult one.
But then that would be cheating (fudging).
So I will continue to roll the dice and
play the word I'm am dealt, no matter how
easy of a word ol' Lady Luck chooses for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.