TucsonJim

By BikerJim

#4 HONOR

The word of the day for the Dictionary Project is -

honor
(in the U.K. - honour)
noun -
1. high respect; esteem, as that shown for special merit.
2. glory or recognition.
3. a mark, token, or gesture of respect or distinction.

verb -
1. to hold in respect; esteem.
2. to show respect for.
3. to confer distinction on.

synonyms -
homage, in the form of a ceremonial tribute that conveys allegiance.
reverence, feeling of deep respect and devotion to something.
veneration, feeling of reverential expression of respect, love, and awe.
deference, courteous respectful regard that implies yielding to them.

Well, I finally hit on a word that threw me for a loop.
Honor is a term that is very nebulous in its meaning.
I was concerned all day long about interpreting it properly.
And then I had to figure out how to translate it photographically.
Late in the day I remembered this sculpture donw in Oro Valley.
For me, it always personified praise and worship whenever I saw it.
But from now on it will always symbolize Honor, or Honour!



I would like to thank those trailblazers who have gone before me,
scattered polaroids, banana blips and impoftheyard.
And I would like to express my empathy to those who will follow,
hebsjournal, electricglass, squirk, pocho, astudyinscarlet
and latest entrant hebsantyval.
And more blippers may take up the challenge in the future.
The Project lasts for 2 weeks, where each day a word
is randomly selected out of the dictionary, no fudging!
Then by some manner of imagination, that word
is transformed into a photograph associated with
or depicting your interpretation of that word.
If your interested in participating in this Project
check out the Blipfoto Chat Forum/Dictionary Project
and throw your hat into the ring (get on the list) !

Thanks for your kind comments during my days of torment, suffering, distress, angst, misery, grief, heartache, desolation, despair!
Oh, and joy ;o))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.