Happy Bruce

Bruce starts a 'new' job with us tomorrow, i.e. one on a different contract. I emailed the members of our research group last week and asked if folk would like to send some greetings by email to include in a new job card for our 'new' colleague. In response, I received some text, drawings, and a witty hand-written spreadsheet.

This morning I created a PowerPoint presentation of all the material, printed off the three pages, and slipped them into the envelope along with the card. Cycle courier Mr hazelh delivered the missive to Bruce's flat at the West End just before I logged onto Teams for my weekly project meeting with Bruce. As you can see from the blip, the new appointee was delighted with his card.

In the rest of my Wednesday meetings there was a real sense of relief as we reach the end of term. The other highlights of the day were to see our Canadian visiting professor online in our weekly research group meeting this afternoon, and to learn that Debbie has also (along with Peter) just submitted her PhD.

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.