Moving mounds of earth

Despite our recent efforts, from the shed end our back garden still looks like a building site.

While Mr hazelh focused on riddling soil today, I weeded nearly all the way along our raised beds, then doused them with fresh earth. I also calculated the number of extra square paving stones that we need to place between the new wall and the shed, and Mr hazelh constructed the big plastic storage box that we bought from LIDL a few days ago. We'll probably use the box to store extra garden furniture.

Gardening is taking up all my non-work hours at the moment. This is because Mr hazelh and I are trying to get as much done ourselves to speed up the work of the Head Gardener and his assistant at weekends.

I have some very healthy-looking bean plants sprouting beneath my Coke bottle cloches on the left of the picture. My late father would have been so impressed at his eldest daughter, the born-again gardener.

Also today I wrote a blog post about a couple of recent conference acceptances, and Peter submitted his PhD. I am a very proud supervisor, colleague, and friend.

Exercise today: gardening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.