And breathe...................

What a day!!!! Well, what a morning. Arrived at Mum's at 8am.
"I've got a bit of a problem"
"Okey dokey, what's that then?"
"I dropped my glass in the bathroom last night, the wash basin is full of glass, but I think I've got it all up off the floor" ................................

Now, the plan was, well in my head anyway, that I would load up the car with the carpet offcuts from the attic, plus the numerous plastic planters & pots, defunct hedge strimmer & battery, & anything else that needed ditching, getting to the recycle centre early enough that I would be back to walk Indie at 9.30am .................. so Plan B kicked in at approximately 8.10am. Broken glass in the bathroom is the worst case scenario. Removing it from the sink, & plughole tricky. Then I found some in the walk in shower, plus a few shards on the floor. Job done!
Next open the garage up & over door, that involved brut force & luck. Perfect! Reversed my car in and loaded up. Alison was walking by, so she  came in to tell me she did'nt think she'd had a reply from the Anglepoise company .... Like I need this.. She informed me that Teign Valley Nursery recycle plastic pots .... sorry!! Too late!! I'll have a look later ...  Car loaded, off I set. Broadway Road closed, so diversion. Tailback on the alternative route  ...... Arrived at recycle centre & had to wait 20minutes as the machines were loading, & moving the garden waste. At this point I was wondering whether I should have stayed in bed this morning. Oh well, it gave me time to remove the You magazine 60 music cds from the collection wrap around. The radio programmes are rubbish. I don't wish to listen to people jabbering & larking about, I want to listen to music. You can tell the sort of day I was having. The staff at the recycle centre were very polite, friendly, & obliging. :-D. I left the recycle centre, turned left for the A380 ... single lane. ARGH!!! Seriously??!!??  I arrived back at Mum's at 9.50am. Indie was ready for the off. And breathe ........... to walk amongst the trees up through the heath, listening to the birdsong was perfect. What I did'nt need was Indie chasing deer today .. What did Indie do ........... Yep! Nose to the ground, bum in the air ........ she was gone. When she returned I put her on the lead as I felt the deer were still around. I spotted the back end of one disappearing through the hedge into the field beyond, a little further around I saw two heading away through a field with sheep. A quick glance but that was all from the flock. We startled a sparrow hawk, which zoomed past us, weaving between the trees and away. The Dipper was on the rocks again today but I did'nt take my camera with me.
Back to Mum's, I painted the new timber back porch with the wood stain, then gave the plant trellis the same treatment. Mum was pleased with the result so that was good. Just the wrought iron gates to do, plus plant up some planters once I've bought the compost. I was hoping to be finished before the weekend but it's not going to happen. The weather forecast is dry but a tad cooler over the next few days, which is ideal. Good Friday is traditionally the day to plant yer spuds. My spuds are chitted and ready, as are the peas, sweet peas, & onion sets, so you know where I'll be on Friday. Have'nt told hubby yet ..... Don't want him getting excited .... LOL!!

Scrummy homemade steak &  kidney pie with proper new potatoes, sprouts, & carrots for dinner tonight.

Thanks to RSD Photography for hosting Wide Wednesday & settings the subjects in March. It's been fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.