Another morning spent at Mum's

but first a trip to the allotment. I turned the piece of ground ready for potato planting this Friday, collected some tools & hosepipe, then down to Chudleigh Knighton. I laid the pieces of slate through the back garden, hopefully making it safer for Mum to se when gardening. The rest of the morning mainly consisted of emptying plastic pots of soil, a few more plants found homes in the borders, a herb tub was planted up - sage, chives, mint, & parsley. Manured the runner bean tub in readiness. Planted up the rhubarb, adding a compact fruiting raspberry to another bug tub. All the plastic pots stacked in readiness for the recycle centre. Clay pots on hold for the mo.
A surprise visit for Mum, Harold, a real character who lived in the village with his family years ago, now widowed, arrived with his daughter, Sarah. She takes him out for a drive around his old haunts, & today was a glorious day to be out & about. He phones Mum quite often early evenings for a chat and to reminisce about the many trips they all made as a group when Mum & Dad had the pub. Not just daily pub outings. 4-5 day outings abroad. Lots of good times & great memories to recall. Mum's neighbours also know Harold, so they came to say hello, he could remember Steve but not Rosemary. We all stood on the pavement, while Harold sat in the car. 6 people + the dog. :-D Our coffee was cold when we returned to the back garden, & I was running late.
Back home :-( .... I headed up to the allotment with my boiled egg and bag of crisps, plus flask of coffee, & dined in the sunshine. I potted on 40 heuchera splits into 9cm pots, weeded & top dressed the hebes, salix, Japanese anemones, & a batch of daisies. All looking good, not too many failures. Fingers crossed I will be able to organise a plant sale for Rowcroft Hospice at my house a little later in the year. June would be good I reckon.
I tried to photograph the dainty little Epimedium flowers but without success. Will try again for Flower Friday, & so  for today's  Tiny Tuesday Blip we have Incy Wincy spider who was chillin in a terracotta pot when I disturbed it. I quickly grabbed the camera and got a couple of snaps but it made it's escape.

Thanks to cathy1947 for hosting Tiny Tuesday in March

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.