NO Joke?

At least I HOPE it wasn't when they sent me a letter quoting 1st of April as the day we'd be LET OUT.   It doesn't half rankle sitting here listening them on about Lockdown #1, Lockdown #2, Lockdown #3 when there are some of us still in lockdown #1.

"Jeremy Shatan wrote from New York: "It’s the vernal equinox, the first day of spring.
(OH NO it isn't!)

Around this time of the year, my mom would always say: ‘Spring has sprung, the grass is riz, the boid is on the wing.’ Yes, just like that."

This saying is all in "New Yorkese", a New York accent.  It seems of course to come from the New York area.  Some quote it from Ogden Nash, but from what I can tell looking through some books, this is incorrect.
The saying is sometimes called "The Brooklyn National Anthem" and it dates back to at least 1940. (I only date back to 1942) There are many versions of it.

Here’s one:
'
Spring has sprung, the grass is ris,
I wonder where the boidies is
The boid is on the wing,
But that’s absoid
From what I hoid 
The wing is on the boid!
'

The version I learnt, back at the dawn of history, was different again, if only slightly; and many 1,ooos of miles distant from N Y City.

"The Spring is sprung, the grass has ris,
I wonder where the boidies is
The boidies dey am on de wing,
But that’s absoid
I tought de wing was on de boid!
"

* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *

NO days and counting!
IT's TODAY!

:¬)


ALL joking aside - it'd have had a similar effect to the damn Coroner deciding to give me Alice's Autopsy results on February 14th 2017.



: ¬ (

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.