Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The "Wee Adventure"

OH how our perspectives have changed….today I put on “hard pants” (what jeans and other pants with belts are being called, as opposed to the soft sweats and PJs everyone’s has been wearing during the pandemic…including me) and got into my friend Randi’s car (a first for a year) and she drove us out of Seattle (I haven’t been out of the city for a year) and on a ferry boat (ditto) to a lovely little town on the Kitsap Peninsula, Port Gamble, not that far away actually (on the map) to meet our non vaccinated friend Diane, who lives alone in Port Townsend and who was having  a mini Crises and needed friends to listen.   So glad we waited til today tho—it was spectacular.  Sunny and warmish.  We brought a picnic and sat outside…wore our masks except to eat.  Diane has had a really hard time, losing a husband, a son, 3 brothers, and 1 sister (and her dog!!) in the last 2+ years, I cannot even imagine this.  We had a lovely day.…couldn’t solve all the family or covid issues we disagree about but good, long time lasting friendships come first.  No question.
A couple of extras....from the ferry of the Olympic Mountains and a building in town.

We have all been thinking about relationships with friends and differences of opinion about covid and what to do and how it has (surprisingly to me,) had an impact on those friendships. Maybe in this stay at home year we learned we didn’t need some of them anyway?  I’m sure everyone has some of the same thoughts.  


Enjoyed and looked forward to this very mini getaway,  it's a darling town (we went into a couple of shops) and there were Eagles flying in front of me here but we were too busy talking. for many photos    ....but now I need my comfort zone at home for a bit…..:-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.