Peaceful

A peaceful day. Colder than yesterday, but a lovely day all the same. Very quiet - no one cutting the grass or doing anything noisy. 

I learnt a new word - irenic. Adrian Chiles in the Guardian this morning mentioned it and suggested it was a word we should bring back into fashion. It means ‘aiming for peace’. The word comes from ‘Eirene’, the Greek goddess of peace, who also gave us the name Irene. I have only known one Irene that I can remember, a lovely name. 

An interesting meeting of the village book group - on Zoom. Surely by next time we can walk down to the village hall! We were reading 'The Outrun' by Amy Liptrot. I must admit I did not finish it and I wasn't the only one. However, we always have the best discussions when we don't agree about a book. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.