Rosemary Lane

The centre of Carlisle was once a warren of alleyways and lanes. That's why the main shopping centre, which incorporated many of these, is called The Lanes. Most have long gone, but here is one remaining, it is quite a well-used alleyway now, linking Fisher Street with Scotch Street - Rosemary Lane. It opens out into the new Treasury Court. The building on the left was once the City Treasury, hence the name. 

Straight ahead in Treasury Court is the wonderful Superior Sewing Centre, the owner of which is one of the few Authorised Bernina Sewing Machine Dealers in the country. What he doesn't know about sewing machines is not worth knowing. 

So today I picked up a new sewing machine. I suddenly decided the one I have, which is still brilliant, is much too heavy and cumbersome, having a computer and other bits which I no longer need. Bernina machines are very expensive so the only way I could afford a new one was to trade in and trade down. I was offered a substantial trade in on my machine, despite the fact that it is so old, and I bought a lovely new lighter-weight machine - see extra. I have now got it out of the box and sorted all the extras, but playing with it may have to wait as we have visitors to prepare for. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.