Disclosure

As well as BBQ season, which opened yesterday, I can now announce the opening of picnic season. Which is true across the country based on the images of mounds of trash in every city park.

I was in touch with the landlady of the apartment I rent in Maputo, largely because I’m relying on her to dehumidify my possessions periodically. She was asking whether it’s alright to chuck out some expired food and then asked about the health of my family. She followed up with:

E a namorada ou noiva?’ (and your girlfriend or fiancée?)

I responded with some platitudes about being single because it’s not possible to pursue a relationship whilst in limbo. Which is all true. She is married but has been flirty before and I never know whether to disclose my sexuality in such situations, as I don’t know where she stands on the issue.

Imagino! Acho que vou aproveitar roubar um beijo teu enquanto aguardas.’ (I imagine! I think I'll enjoy stealing a kiss from you while you wait)

My concern is if someone isn’t liberal minded, being too frank could create dynamics that aren’t needed, even if it should be normal to reject a landlady trying to crack onto her tenant. However maybe she’s in an open marriage with her husband, in which case, all power to them. Força.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.