Good Friday

is traditionally the day to plant your seed potatoes, so that's what I did. An early supermarket shop, dropped a few bits off at Mum's, back home unpacked shopping, made a flask of coffee, then loaded the car up with the veg I started off in the greenhouse ................ A tad chilly, hence an extra layer, which came off once the sun was shining on my plot. I turned ground, planted onions, peas, & potatoes, plus sowed turnip, beetroot, spinach, carrots, & spring onion. Fingers crossed pigeon/pheasant/cat protection are effective. A very cheeky but very smart cock pheasant strutted right across my plot, giving it the once over I reckon. There are a couple resident on the site, renegades from the Ugbrooke estate, where the annual shoot was obviously cancelled, so there are even more birds around. A robin is nesting in my neighbour, Stuarts, shed. I got on site about 9am, headed home at 5pm. Got home then realised my camera was in the allotment shed so I walked back to get it. A plum tree on my neighbour, Liz's plot was looking very poorly last year, so she asked me to prune it. Many of the branches were dead, so were cut right back but the remaining branches are covered with beautiful white blossom right now. Looking gorgeous against the bright blue sky. Click!
I should sleep well tonight, & hopefully not ache too much in the morning.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.