An almighty bang from the kitchen sent

me dashing to see what had happened. Hubby was charging up redundant mobile phones on electric sockets in the kitchen ... as he removed the charger from one of the phones it exploded. The exploding phone parts went everywhere, a piece was attached to the lining on my jacket hanging in the hall, another piece landed on the hall carpet melting it, the smut had marked the cupboard fronts, the fridge, worktops .. literally everything, & hubby has burns on his hand which he won't let me look at. He has a history of fire related incidents, none of which were intentional. One could say history was repeating itself .....REPETITION? I'm just thankful it happened early this evening, & not during the night.  I remember a long time ago someone saying you should never use your mobile phone while it is on charge ............. The smoke detector was'nt activated which DID surprise me. Meanwhile the cottage pie was forming a lovely crunchy crust & bubbling away in the oven.
Excuse me if I'm distracted ... "We" are watching a very early James Bond movie .. Thunderball. The gadgets on his car, an Aston Martin DB5, it spurted water from its rear lights ... how times have changed ... Sean was pretty young in it too. I think I prefer him now.

A few domestic duties this morning ... ironing, don't mind it but do as little possible, then a trip to the pharmacy to collect part of a prescription not available on Tuesday. In conversation with a couple of others waiting for the pharmacy, one chaps son works "on the bins" He's on the lorries that collect the recycle i.e. or should it be e.g?????  food waste, glass, cardboard, metal, plastic... They would normally have to go back to empty their lorries at 11.30, this Monday they had to go back at 8.30 because the food waste section was full. Those greedy, selfish people who cleared the shelves in the supermarkets had wasted their money, & wasted food. Disgraceful!  I was surprised there was'nt a queue when I arrived, just one lady in front of me, I got the order very quickly, nipped up to the Tesco in Bovey Tracey, I was the only customer, they seemed fairly well stocked.
Back home, the sun was shining, I could not stay in I had to get up on the plot. Hubby does'nt understand ..................... I left him sitting looking at the paper. I had another go at the fruit bed. I know the rhubarb would love a well rotted manure mulch, but what am I to do...... it's not a necessity, well for my rhubarb it is, in fact, I reckon if the  fruit bushes got a whiff of well rotted manure they would be demanding a feed as well. Hey ho!!! Jim, my immediate allotment neighbour has come out of hibernation. I last saw him just before Xmas. He's moved but keeping on his allotment for now. We had a number of chats, so I probably did'nt achieve quite as much as I anticipated but there's always tomorrow. He gave me some of his purple sprouting broccoli, I gave him some parsnips & leeks, It's what we do .... share. It's such a lovely thing to do ... The 3 for £10 multi purpose compost are rubbish quality, finely chipped bark would be a more appropriate description. I've done something to my arm, not sure what but it's very swollen, & tender. I won't mention it to hubby, but hope it improves. Probably pulled something clearing the Tower Hill Hump with the mattock the day before yesterday. Repetition!

After the earlier excitement I was watching the clock. We missed the 8pm  Clap for Carers last week. Totally oblivious to what was going on around us but made a point of being outside this evening.  Thousands of people are putting their own lives at risk being there for us, whether they be doctors, carers, nurses, shop assistants, garbage collectors. I still cannot get my head around the fact that this pandemic stems from pangolin, & or bat, sold in a Chinese market. 

Is'nt it funny how a word can trigger a memory. I like watching Tipping Point, & The Chase. You can pick up all sorts of useless information .. I'm quite good at useless information, anyway this afternoon, there was a retired barrister/ college Law lecturer on The Chase, his son was called Rohan... well that took me right back to Sri Lanka circa 1982. The chef at The Triton hotel where we stayed was called Rohan. Rosemary, a single lady in our tour group, the other guests in our group were all from travel agents, so I think we may have got preferential treatment, had a crush on Rohan, anyway Rohan made the most delicious fruit cake. I still have his handwritten recipe.

I've got to go .... I'm on the edge of my seat watching Thunderball .. we're reaching 110miles per hour. Sean's shorts are very ....... short ... & very ..... tight. LOL!! Early James Bond. So cringeworthy!!

No, these are not the flames from the exploding iphone  ... I'm not going to tell you what I created but the process was repetitive.

I need another cider ... Keep safe!  #lifeontheedge

Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.