Made by a maid in the country

A very swift visit to Spar for a paper, lottery, &  impulse purchase. I could'nt resist the two KitKat chunky bars for £1. A little energy fix for this mornings allotment activity. Two beds of potatoes planted. 30 'Charlotte' in the first bed, the second bed being smaller would not accommodate the 30 'Pentland Javelin', but I had a flash of inspiration. The very recently removed hump might be useful. I was planning to put more fruit in that area but having spent a good couple of hours turning the ground, I decided to plant the surplus potatoes there. The blip shows me digging & planting the extra row of spuds.
In the middle of my digging a neighbour arrived with bags of compost, eavesdropping a conversation with another allotmentee it transpired that he had just purchased it at Plants Galore. A local business that was featured on the local news last evening. Tony Joyner, one of the owners ripping up the notice served by Exeter City Council, as he disagreed with the notice regarding trading. I had dealings with Mr Joyner when I was  working in the garden centre industry. He's a very arrogant bloke, but needs must .. I rang hubby. He went to our local Plants Galore & picked up 3 bags for me ...  Much muttering & moaning but I've got it.

Another good few hours working on the plot ... Lots of activity up there today. 8 different plots being dug over ... The robin singing it's little heart out, blue tits, a sweet little wren working it's way through the veggie patches, & 4 Mallard ducks flying over a couple of times, but no planes in the sky. Very strange. Being close to Exeter airport there were always aircraft overhead.

Back home, late lunch.

Tomato, & Black eyed Susan seedlings are all up. Turkish hollyhock seedlings looking healthy.

I could have taken a pic of the town, Chudleigh, this morning but instead chose to share my plot with you :- ) Thanks to freyhad for hosting this Wednesday  Not town, country. Ops!

Stay safe folks

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.