Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Blossom Time

I took a trip out to Cobham with the intention of walking up to the Mausoleum and to see if I could find some of the Highland Cattle performing conservation grazing duties.

The walk turned out a little further than I anticipated as the previous parking area (on private land) has been blocked off by the farm owners due to "volume of traffic and .... behaviour by a small minority" - don't blame then really having experienced some of it on my last visit.  So I parked in the village and walked along the road with other energetic souls. Even then, our peace was disturbed by a group of young trail bike riders, one of whom did a wheelie as he passed us.

The track up to the Mausoleum was bordered by bushes in full blossom ... I think blackthorn, though could be hawthorn.  The cattle were a little harder to find, but eventually tracked down deep in the woodland (extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.