Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Trinity

A few weeks ago, the local newspaper featured (at least on its Facebook page) an article by a local historian of an 'alternative' walk around sites associated with "The Battle of Falkirk Muir" (see yesterday's post). That walk was my ramble of choice today.

Starting at Callander House in Falkirk, today's route followed (more or less) that taken by General Hawley and the Hanoverian (British Government) troops in January 1746 - into Falkirk town centre where the general rejoined his forces who were camped near what is now Dollar Park, up the hill (actually up, down and up again) to what is now the parkland of the South Bantaskine Estate, where yesterday's photo was taken, and then - without having to do battle with anyone - back down into Falkirk.

I walked just over 11km (a little over six miles) in beautiful sunshine. When I left Callendar Park and again when I returned some three hours later, it was really busy with loads of people enjoying a gloriously sunny Easter weekend. If only all holiday weekends were this sunny!

Along my route through the town centre I went into the churchyard of what is now known as Falkirk Trinity Church (pictured). Some of the notables killed in the first Battle of Falkirk (in 1298) are buried there as are some of those killed in the second battle around 450 years later, the one now known as Falkirk Muir (or moor).

In the picture, the grave surrounded by railings in the centre of the photo is that of Sir John de Graeme, who fell while fighting with William Wallace in the Wars of Independence, while the large stone grave in shadow is that of Sir Robert Munro, one of the Hanoverian generals who lived locally and who fell in 1746.

It's now late Saturday afternoon, the sun is still shining, I've had my walk and sorted out my photos, time to make my weekend curry and pour myself a wee glass of something. All this history stuff is tiring!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.