Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Muir

Took myself up to the Greenrig car park, just beyond Bonnybridge, on Friday from where I walked one of the three waymarked trails laid out by the Callendar Estate, the local landowners. I then followed the Battle of Falkirk Muir Trail, covering some of the sites of said battle which took place on 17th January 1746 between the Jacobites (Bonnie Prince Charlie and all that) and the Hanoverians (Government troops).

Needless to say, there are few remnants of the battle around today but one can appreciate the undulating landscape and the steep hill at Bantaskine, where this photo was taken, which was scaled by the Hanoverian troops to engage the enemy.

Unlike that January afternoon 275 years ago when there was fading light and falling snow, my walk was a relaxing stroll in bright spring sunshine. And no-one was firing muskets or brandishing swords in my direction!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.