Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Uphill

One of the roads leading north from the A803 at Longcroft is called Station Road. There hasn't been a station near here since the 1930's and the road is known locally as Doctor's Brae, as it was up here that the local doctor's surgery was situated.

Doctor's Brae is a bit of an uphill walk, but that is nothing compared to the uphill stretch once one has followed the road underneath the M80 motorway.  Coming out from beneath the underpass one is faced by a steep one-in-four climb up to Banknock and then Easter Banknock farms. That was my walk of choice on Thursday evening (main photo).

Thankfully, the gradient eases off after that and I chose to continue my walk on the country roads to the north of Little Denny Reservoir towards Denny (extra photo) and then back home via another country road to the south of the reservoir.

My walking app showed that I had walked around 8.5km (just over five miles) but it seemed much longer. That may have been due to to the cold, stiff breeze that accompanied my journey. What came as a surprise was that I met (at an appropriate distance, of course!) quite a few other people at various points during my evening stroll.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.