Thornton Shed

Well one of them anyway and thanks to a guy from NR for allowing me this wee visit to one of the old loco sheds at Thornton Depot which has now closed the newer sheds still get used occasionally like when The Union Of South Africa is up for a couple of days it has been stabled there but this shed is no longer in use as the track to it has been lifted but the rails remain in situ inside the shed I do get a little emotional when I visit places like this although they make for great photography subjects of a bygone era it is also sad to see there demise also I wonder what the old Steam Drivers would think now these guys taught me everything back when I started and are the unsung heroes although "Heroes SHED No Tears 1980" as they say but I take my hat off to those men who really had to work for there pay back then but it was nice to visit Thornton again as back when I drove freight trains out of Millerhill we worked jobs up the Westfield Branch to Methil Power Station and coal trains to Longannet Power Station where the ex Thorton Drivers are now based including my mates who started with me Gary Austin and Martin Rafferty who moved from Millerhill to Thornton back in the late nineties so this is my nostalgic day out capturing another piece of railway history that might not last so capturing it before it's ultimate demise to nature or the bulldozer which is a sad day indeed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.