Preserving

My son and I have been preserving. I have been cooking up small lots of fruit to put in the freezer for winter puddings, while son has made two batches of quince jelly. We feel very industrious. However, I was looking in my mother’s old recipe book and came across this list she made 60 years ago, of the preserving she had done for the season. She used quart and pint sized jars. I’m mostly amazed at the amount of spaghetti Mum made.The pasta was cooked and added to the sauce for bottling. It was very soft to eat. It was probably used for winter lunches. I had left home by that time so there were just my parents and 11 year old sister.This list doesn’t mention the 60 pounds of jam Mum also made that year.

The background shot is of wee peppers in my greenhouse, the only other photo I took today. I ate the big red one for dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.