Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Onward and upward

Over the years I've sometimes found Easter Monday a bit of an anticlimax - the trouble, I suppose, with celebrating an anniversary, if you care to describe it so, rather than living through the original! All the drama and tension of Holy Week - even restricted as we have been for this year and last - leaving you perched on a high with no obvious way of dealing with the inevitable return to normal. And when your normal consists of  the routines of which we've all become so tired - the restrictions of movement, and especially of company - it's even harder.

All this flipped through my tired brain this morning. I'm glad I'd cleared the decks, so to speak, so I wasn't even aiming at a 10am Pilates class or the tutoring session I'd rashly organised and then cancelled. After the uncertain overnight weather, the sun was out again, but the north wind was blowing and it was so cold outside! I hung out a washing and thought of how we'd eaten lunch in the garden, in t-shirts, only last week ...

In my world, however, everything is helped by a walk. By the time we were heading up the gorge in Glen Massan (blipped), there had already been a flurry of the snow that was being much more assertive elsewhere in the country, but as you can see from the blue sky there was hardly any here. The wind met us full in our faces at the top of the road, but the trees had the sparse beauty of tiny green buds and there were several very small, rather teetery lambs trying to follow their big grey mums about the upper field. Life felt more normal again.

Tonight I've managed to stay awake long enough to catch up on yesterday's episode of Line of Duty - it's one of these programmes that you daren't watch if there's a danger you might drop off, and I love it. All these snaky looks and meaningful glances over the tops of the computers ...And now I'm going to head bedwards before I drop. 

I'll be catching up on other journals again soon - I've been a very bad blipper these last few days, but I'll be back...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.