Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Wet

I realised today that I've got rather used to dry weather - apparently it's been the driest March here for many years - so today came as a bit of a downer, with rain more or less throughout. There was lying snow in Aberdeen, but here it wasn't cold. Just wet.

I was like the dead when it came to waking up this morning, and it was really well after 11am before I was anything like ready to get on with that sermon I talked about. But I've been developing an idea for several days now, and by the time I sat down to work on it it just came - I was finished by lunchtime. Good feeling, that - actually to write something that seems to work.

This left me free to go for a walk in the rain with my bestie, with whom I've not had a chance for a proper talk for over a week. We started from my house and headed out to the back of town and into the Bishop's Glen, which is where my photo today comes from. The town's water supply used to come from two reservoirs up there - it was still in use when we came here 48 years ago - though the upper loch has now been restored to its original state of a burn passing through scrubby woodland. The lower reservoir is still there, however, with the terrifying run-off at the outer end of the loch, where this afternoon it was roaring over the dam and down the channel in the most dramatic fashion. We walked three miles, talking all the way, and called in at the church on our way down to find Himself and the Rector discussing Holy Week arrangements, but we left them there and carried on down the road to home.

By the time I got in I was utterly soaking - drookit, in fact; my jacket dripped pools of water on the dining room floor from the chair I'd hung it on (happily we have a stripped wooden floor) and I had to put the plastic laundry basket under my trousers where they were dangling from the loft ladder (I know - I have quaint arrangements chez moi, but they work).

The day ended with the best and quickest of dinners - a packet of fresh tortellini stuffed with chicken and pancetta, with a handful of sautéed mushrooms and a wee jar of the most delicious mushroom and truffle sauce topped with a sprinkle of parmesan. The tortellini seem to be part of a new range I found in the supermarket - there are different fillings ...

Caught up on The Ipcress File later - I remember not really getting the plot when the movie came out, and I don't know that I've really got it now, but it was pretty tense. 

I think it's going to rain again tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.