Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Blossom

This morning was sunny and bright but very cold. I had planned to get up early to take some sunrise photos at Bushy Park, but when I saw that it was going to be -4C at that time I hastily decided against it! It got to 7C today and that was not warm at all! I walked Xena in the woods and got so cold and was very pleased to get home to a hot cappuccino after the walk. 

After lunch I went to RHS Wisley and I was pleased that I had pre-booked on such a sunny and bright day. However as I got there I noticed white things floating in the sky and I thought it was petals from the blossom, as it was very windy and there are lots of blossom blowing about - but no, it was big snow flakes! It did not last long and the lovely blue skies had gone.

I timed my visit to Wisley a little too late, most of the blossoms and spring flowers were a bit off - all the cherry blossoms, the daffodils, the magnolias, grape hyacinth and even the wild flowers were showing signs of fading. I loved these, I don't know what they are but the I thought that colour was so unusual.  

I am waiting in eager anticipation to hear what the government will announce next Monday about travel plans. There will be a traffic light system of green, amber and red countries with different Covid regulatory requirements for each type of country. I just hope there are a few countries on the 'green' list as Gavin and most of his staff, like many others, have found they have worked much longer hours during lockdown and it has been a hard year so they do need a holiday, and need it sooner than later. Countries will be classified according to their vaccination rates, Covid-19 infection rates and prevalence of ‘variants of concern’ as well as their systems for tracking infections and variants, which does not leave many places to be on that 'green' list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.