Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pride

The arctic incursion continues; very cold and lots of snow flurries today but also plenty of sunshine.

I started a little decorating project this morning and then headed out to the far corner of the moor for my afternoon walk.   I’m glad I remembered my wooly hat but I could have done with gloves too.

On the way across I saw my first of this year’s returning Wheatear (extra) - probably none too impressed by the wintry conditions. 

I was taking shelter under a small tree when I spied the opportunity for today’s main image - the crows seem to stand up to the snow as a matter of pride. 

A couple of minutes later and it had cleared again, and the biggest wildlife spectacle of the day became apparent - a flock of 250+ Golden Plover that had settled a couple of fields over (extras). It’s the largest flock of them that I’ve seen for a few years, but these boggy pastures at the edge of the moor are a good spot for them.  

There were about seven Oystercatcher in the same spot, and the usual Lapwing and Curlew. I also saw what were probably Sand Martin (possibly House) - my first swallows/martins of the year. Some compensation for the understandable lack of butterflies on such a cool day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.