Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The First

My first Eastern Bumble Bee of the year!  (Well, technically my second since I saw one a few weeks ago while hiking, but the first in the garden.)  Our weeping cherry trees are just starting to pop a few blossoms and, right on cue, the bumble bees showed up.  I'm not sure how they know, but every year like clockwork, large numbers show up when the trees start blooming.  Once the trees are done, we won't seen many bumblers again until mid summer.  Anyway, couldn't resist.  

Met up with my birder friends for a nice 3 mile hike today at one of our favorite places.  Saw 26 bird species plus two different snake species (garter and little brown).  I picked up the little brown snake and was able to handle it for several minutes before it was time to let it go.  They are so surprisingly soft and silky feeling.  It was still very chilly and it had crawled out onto the trail to warm up - that was the only reason I was able to get hands on it. Anyway, it was a beautiful morning and did a world of good to my sagging spirits.  

Spring allergies have a grip on my so when I got home, I tucked in for a nap which was blissful.  And after napping, out to the patio to spend some time with all the wild things in the garden.  

Should have results soon - and hopefully it will all have been a big false alarm.  Fingers crossed.  I have a friend who hasn't been quite so lucky and is headed for surgery later this month.  She is keeping it all very quiet and hasn't told anyone beyond spouse and 1 or 2 friends.  But if you want to put some good karma out into the universe for a very lovely woman going through a very tough time, please do...

One year ago we started hearing that wearing a mask would be a good idea and I scoured the internet to find some cloth masks since it was impossible to buy surgical or medical masks by then.  NJ's death toll was already over 1,000, and climbing.  

So continue taking precautions to keep yourselves safe.  Be kind, because we are all a little fragile right now.  And I'm thinking dark with a hint of chili...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.