Nesting among the reeds

Before riding to the sanctuary this afternoon I stopped very shortly at the artificial island again. Both of the Great Crested Grebes were snoozing on the water some distance away from their nest where a female Mallard was doing the same thing. I hadn't seen any of the swans yesterday but this afternoon one of them was back on their nest. Just like the Grebes and the female Mallard, it was also having a snooze though. I took some photos but none of them were very interesting. Fortunately there were also a few Coots who seemed to have built a nest among the reeds. I chose to blip one of them because at least they were awake.

The weather started out quite sunny but during my walk with Stallone, a Staffordshire who's a recent arrival at the sanctuary, it began to cloud over. It was a very warm day for this time of year though and when I rode home after the walk at 5pm it was a whopping 17°C.

Thank you ever so much for all the kind comments, stars and hearts on my Great Crested Grebes blip from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.