Artforms

The season of playful patterns is here again. Every man (mostly men) with a tractor is out on the fields playing with their different machines to make art for us to admire. They might have other purposes of their doings but they are hidden to us mortals. After a while, these rows will be shimmering in rows of green and other colors and finally, when the green reaches a pale yellow stage the straw gets chopped down and I'm told it then emerges in the shape of bread. Magic!

For once I had something out of the ordinary happening today. I was asked to to make a recording of a trio, of two violins and a piano, for documentary reasons. They were asked by one of the priests in the area to do a small concert in the church during easter. They rehearsed a lot but when the day came, because of extra corona-restrictions, only eight people was allowed to be in church at the same time.  The trio and the priest was four and then a couple of service helpers and a caretaker made three so they didn't get an audience at all. They played their music anyway but after all their preparations at least they wanted to get the music recorded. We had a lovely time in the church, they played a suite of five lovely pieces by Shostakovich which I recorded, they were happy and so was I. Now I'll prepare the music so I can present it to them as good as possible. All this would make a special blip, if I had remembered to bring the camera out! 
I can't believe I missed this obvious opportunity, we were all so engaged in the lovely music and the performance and the technical stuff that none of us thought of taking a picture. I promised it happened, you'll have to take my word for it. I can produce a link to the music when the mixing is done to prove it. You can watch the waveforms of the music while you wait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.