Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cherry tree blossoms

The day started sunny and bright, so I decided to stop off and photograph a favourite cherry tree on my way to the supermarket. What I hadn't realised was that it was very breezy, so the little branches were constantly moving in the wind and it was very difficult to focus on the  blossom with a macro lens. I did not want to leave it to another day as rain is expected tomorrow and with cold weather the blossoms get damaged. This tree seems to be mainly white blossom (and pink buds) but there is another one near our house, not yet in bloom, that is all pink, so I will take photos of that tree when they bloom.

I was very sad to hear of the death of Prince Philip today - it was not unexpected, in fact I was surprised he recovered well enough to leave hospital a few weeks ago. He reached a remarkable age and lived a fulfilling life, and was a constant support to the queen. He is also known for having said some outrageous things. Gavin once went to a function many years ago where he was the guest speaker and he was exceptionally good and very entertaining.

Now it is the weekend again, not great weather expected and nothing exciting to do.  On Monday we finally come out of lockdown with shops, hairdressers and gyms opening again, and restaurants and pubs are allowed to serve customers outdoors. I have a hairdresser appointment in a week's time, I cannot wait - it has been 20 weeks since my last appointment....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.