Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Cheese

Last night we had just finished supper when I saw a text on my phone from a friend, it was about an hour old, saying they were on their way and would see us at the restaurant shortly. Oh my goodness, I realised we had forgotten that we had a date with friends for dinner at a local restaurant and they would have been sitting there the better part of an hour wondering where we were. I immediately phoned and apologised, and in normal circumstances we could have been there in 5 minutes but of course having Covid meant we could not go. Gavin had made the booking when I was away in Harris and Lewis and I forgot to write it in my diary, as clearly did he! We were so embarrassed so I sent them some flowers today to apologise - and they managed to have a fantastic meal there so did not really mind.

I am feeling okay with mild Covid symptoms, the occasional wave of nausea, a really fuzzy head that feels like it does not belong to my body, and a general feeling of weakness. I think my healthy diet, exercising routine and consequent good immune system means I have got off lightly. But that is just a presumption. Gavin feels like he has a bad cold and has a cough (which he had before) and a slight temperature.

After breakfast we set off down the road towards the woods to walk Xena - halfway down the road I was feeling quite weak and just felt like lying down so I turned around and went home again. Gavin continued and walked Xena - he said it was very quiet and he did not come close to anyone else, although he saw two other dog walkers. 

I have to submit some food photography images for a camera club competition next month, so today I decided to play around with some ideas. After 100 photos of cheese I was still not satisfied! Anyway, here is a first attempt but more thinking and work is needed. My favourite food photographer is Donna Crous, she is so skilled at lighting and is my inspiration. I was only using natural light here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.