Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

And C is for Cute, too

Feeling a raft of emotions today (not surprising, I guess) so after some cleaning and errands, I headed outside to see what I could find.  The birds weren't cooperating, which was frustrating because I had this whole idea in my head of a beautiful cardinal posed perfectly in the cherry blossoms.  Ha.  Photographers plan, Nature laughs.

Feeling dejected, I decided to refill one of the bird baths...only to find a small bee struggling in the water,  Finger quickly engaged as a little insect life raft which he happily boarded.  Transported the little guy to a daffodil and zipped inside to grab the macro lens.  Then a bunch of photos, since the little dude was too wet to fly (and probably just a little freaked out).  I like this one the best because I think even those who don't like insects will find this face kind of endearing.  It always makes me feel good to rescue something, and I'm very fond of the little native bees.  So now I'm feeling right with the universe.  

I'm not sure exactly what species this is, although I'm leaning towards mason bee.  I've posted some pics on an entomology sight so when I find out, I'll be back.  I'll post a lateral (side) view in Extra if anyone wants to weigh in.  Update:  this is a male Mining Bee, Species Andrena.

I want to thank every one of you who took time to write such supportive messages yesterday and those who shared their own stories about breast cancer.  One of the reasons I chose to go public is that I knew I'd get a lot of support and positivity - thank you.  I'm working on my list of questions for the surgeon when I have my virtual visit with her on Tuesday.  Mostly, I'm working on questions about the actual surgery but also starting a list of questions about the radiation, too.  I'm one of those people who wants as much info as possible - good, bad, ugly, doesn't matter.

Thank you again for being such a wonderful, supportive, positive community.  

Stay safe, be kind, and I'm looking for recommendations on dark chocolate...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.