A little me time

down by the river Bovey this morning, watching the female Dipper, listening to the birdsong. The vibrant bright green of young unfurling leaves, the pure white blackthorn blossom, & this skunk cabbage, how could I miss this bright yellow beauty growing on the waters edge. I've walked this path many times over the years, & have always thought I would like my ashes scattered along the riverbank of this section of river, ever since seeing kingfishers here. Not today sadly, a pair flew past at great speed a couple of days when I visited so it's good to know they are still on this stretch.
The last wrought iron gate painted this morning. Just a couple of small planting/gardening jobs, plus creosoting 2 gates plus posts tomorrow. THEN, fingers crossed I will have completed my job list, although Mum added to it this morning .. A job for the Gorilla Glue .
Back home lunch, watched the news with the announcement of the Duke of Edinburgh's passing. 73 years supporting the Queen in her duties. That's devotion. R.I.P
I spent a couple of hours faffing in the greenhouse. Sowing 10 week Stock seed that I collected last Autumn. The Stocks have flowered all winter and still adding lots of colour & perfume to the front garden. I have at least 2 resident mice in the greenhouse. They living in a first floor carrier bag containing pot marigold seed. Every time I enter the greenhouse they sneak out through a hole in the side of the bag .. Quite sweet, as long as they don't take a fancy to my seedlings. IF they do, then they may have to relocate to the allotment site. I sowed more sweet pea seed, and potted the carnation cuttings Jean sent me home with yesterday.  Forgot to mention my little yucky experience at G&J's ... George filled the watering can for me, as I was pouring the spout got blocked .. I thought it was a dead snail poking through the spout so pulled on it ...... It was a dead shrew I think ... 2 dinky pointy teeth plus body. :-((
Right, I'm off to make dinner ...... This green curry with chicken for hubby, Indian spiced veggie coconut curry for me.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting Flower Friday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.