Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Navy Blues

Year 2 Day 17 of UK COVID-19 Pandemic.  First UK Vaccine 123 days ago. England & Wales in partial lockdown.

I was travelling to Cardiff to visit my 89 year old dad when I heard on the car radio that HRH Prince Philip had died this morning. I broke the news to my dad who hadn't heard.

My dad told me the story that about 1951, my dad boarded HMS Magpie to meet his friend, a bosun, and they locked themselves in the small stores office to have a tot of rum. There was a knock on the door.
My dad's friend said "B*gger off, I'm having dinner!"
The reply came "It's your Captain, open this bloody door now Bosun!"
The Captain was none other than than Prince Philip. He came in and had a chat as he wanted to order something, and left. My dad says Prince Philip was very well liked and respected.

On the way I stopped at Cardiff Bay and took a photo' of the newly painted mural of a pregnant black woman wearing a Cardiff City FC shirt. The story behind it is here  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.