Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Marloes

Thanks to everyone who visited my journal yesterday to help me celebrate my 100th blip. I was genuinely  overwhelmed by your kind comments, stars and hearts. But now it’s back to work, so on with Blip 101! 

It’s dull today, but it’s a day when dark grey add more to the landscape than a blue sky would. We’re visiting Marloes Sands. We expect a pretty beach, but we are not prepared to be transported to another planet - the sensation given by its other-worldly rock formations. Everywhere we look, we find the shapes and folds and colours mesmerising. We’re here in Pembrokeshire, not that far from home, but here’s a landscape to rival any on our far-flung travels. 

It’s while we’re here that news comes through from Buckingham Palace. Prosaically, it’s the ice cream man who tells us. I don’t consider myself a staunch royalist, but find myself deeply saddened by the Duke’s death - another link with my parents’ generation lost. Dad ‘looked after’ Prince Philip aboard the THS Patricia when she stood in for the Royal Yacht at the Helsinki Olympics. He always had a high regard for Philip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.