Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Chased by pirates

Apparently Celtic missionaries had a tough time of it when they were travelling along the coast back in the 5th and 6th centuries. Tradition has it that St Govan was being chased by pirates when a cleft in the rock opened up to hide him, closing around him until the enemy left. And so here the grateful Govan stayed to worship and to teach until his death in 586. 

The chapel itself dates back to the 13th century, but may have been founded far earlier by his followers. Pirates now long gone,  visitors need only fear the fire of the range at Castlemartin -  but the whole area is closed off when it is used for training manoeuvres. Today, the guns are silent, the air filled instead with birdsong, so capturing my 100th Blip requires only the challenge of negotiating the rock steps cut into the cliff to reach this special place. 

So, 100 blips. A baby step compared with most of my fellow blippers, but a step it is. It’s strange how quickly blip becomes so much a part of daily life, and how quickly one is embraced into the blip community. From the start, I’ve felt welcomed and supported, grateful for the guiding hands reached out by those with many more entries behind them. Blip is a special place. 

I joined because I wanted to improve my photography, and comparing my early blips with recent ones, I think I’ve started on this journey. I’m certainly exploring a far greater range of subjects and approaches than I was, but technically, there’s still a long journey ahead. I wanted to use my Canon 7D more, and rely on my iPhone less, and generally that’s the case - though my poor 7D is really on its last legs, so a new purchase will soon be on the cards! 

I still spend far too long selecting journal entries, though I think I agonise a little less, and I probably spend far too long composing the accompanying prose - but for me, that’s an essential element. 

So, moving on towards the next milestone - what are my aims? Well, obviously the continuing quest to improve my images, but also, to learn more in terms of editing and processing. And, in all honesty, to manage my time more effectively! 

Thanks for sticking with me, or joining me along the first part of the journey! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.