Grammy

By Grammy

My Sister Rocks

Last year, while taking a neighborhood stroll, I was enchanted by a sweet smelling shrub. My sister has spent a year trying to find one to add to my garden. She left it on the driveway today as a (very) early birthday gift. I could not wait to see what it was so I made a quick trip home (my daughter only lives 10 minutes away). She also left fertilizer for raised bed planting - so thoughtful. It is planting season now and it will be way too hot and dry in June so my chances of keeping the gift alive are good. This is a Pearlific Viburnum, a “beautiful, compact, mounding shrub with glossy, dark green foliage and large, abundant clusters of pink buds that open to lightly fragrant, white flowers in the spring. Small, red berries ripen to blue-black, providing multi-season interest.” We had a sunny, mild day so the guys could comfortably work on putting the stair railings back up. So much math - way too many angles and slopes! My daughter was invited out for lunch. She had a tiny helping of puréed refried beans but at least she got away from the house. We did laundry and I took Sky to and from play practice and entertained “the boyfriend” in between. All in all, it was a pretty quiet day. Thoughtfulness is a virtue that seems to be waning in the younger crowd. So very thankful the Lord blessed me with a sister who is filled with it. Thanks for the visits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.