Skeletons in the Closet

The Hally/Imrie/Cowper/Findlay family have MANY skeletons- so many I should write a book on it!

Both sides of my family having interesting pasts. :)

Here is a ships manifest (my G grandfather was determined to ship his 20 year old daughter (my grandmother) off to Brooklyn to his brother to stop her marrying my grandpa). Obviously it didn’t work and anyway they had married before the ship was to sail.

A Decree of Divorce - that was a short story in itself.

A proof of Paternity for the year 1875 meaning instead of being called Imrie we became a Hally. Wonder what the Mill Owner thought about his son (my GG grandfather) fraternising with the loom weaver )!

The box containing so many details was brought down from the attic a few weeks ago. Trying to sort it into some kind of order is quite time consuming.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.