Chaotic Friday

What a Friday this was.
Especially during the first part of the morning.
I woke up at 06.15, showered and was getting ready for my walk with Toby. Annemarie woke up too, all snotty and coughy. And she had to go to work, to school today. But with this cold?? Not possible. She decided to call her school about what to do. Meanwhile Toby and I left for our walk.

I went to the local small forest, and I still don't know how and why, but once there, Toby suddenly sprinted as a cannonball, ripped the leash from my hand and jumped into a ditch. Oh no, not now Toby!!!

I called him, and I must have done that in a way that made an impression on him, because he turned around and stood will. The handle of the leash lay on the other side of the ditch as well. How could I get that back?? I needed a stick. As soon as I went looking for one, Toby started to howl in a way I never heard before. "Don't leeeeaaave me heere please, whoooohooo".
I found stick and managed to pull the handle back to me. We were connected again. Now he had to come back to me. Jump! 3-2-1 and yes, on 1 he actually jumped. I pulled him a bit, so only his hind legs landed in the water again. Right back to home, to the shower! Stupid dog.

When we got home, I found a busy place. By then it was 7.30 and Bas and Daan were running around too, they had to leave for school at 8.00. Annemarie was busy arranging a quick-covid-test. 
I had to shower a smelly, but very happy, dog!

Annemarie had to be tested at 08.40 in Appingedam. When the outcome would be negative she could go to school after all. When the outcome would be positive....well, that would create a whole new situation for all of us.
I had an appointment at my physiotherapist at 09.30, so we were all on a tight schedule.
Bas and Daan left for school, Toby was drying up again, and I had a few minutes for my first coffee.

Around 08.30 Annemarie and I went to the test location. With Annemarie being a teacher, she was entitled to a quick-test. At 08.40 it was done and the 15 minutes waiting time began. During those minutes I drove her to school in Spijk already simply because otherwise I would be too late for my appointment at 09.30. Near Spijk we parked and waited for the results to come in by mail. And yes, it came: Negative!! 

We drove on to her school and I dropped her off. I then went straight to my physio.

Why physio? My leg and back are hurting a lot lately. I can't sit and stand for a long time. Walking and lying down goes OK. Some muscles in my leg/buttocks are totally cramped. Marcel, my therapist suggested some dry needling. I've had that before in my shoulder, but not in my leg.
A rather painfull treatment was what followed. But, fortunately after some exercises and movements with my leg he confirmed that with my hip prosthesis technically was nothing wrong. That was a relief, because I've been worrying about that a bit too. Muscle pain is something I can handle, bring on those needles...

After needling and a massage Marcel promised me a tired and painfull leg for the rest of the day and a follow up appointment was made for next Monday. On Thursday an appointment with my chiropractor was scheduled also.
Marcel, my physio, is for smooth muscles.
Marcia, may chiro, will correct my bones.
On moments like this, I feel old....

Around 10.30 I was home again with Toby (all dried up with a nice shampoo smell around him) and we had a coffee together.
Marcels' promise became true already. I didn't feel like working, sitting was still a problem. Another coffee seemed fitting.


Around 13.00 I picked up Annemarie again. I went a bit earlier to walke with Toby first, in the so called "Spieksterbos" (forest of Spijk). I hadn't been there before. I was a bit muddy and wet and grey, but some it had some nice views over rural Groningen as well. (photo)

At 13.15 I was back at the car with Annemarie, who didn't feel very well either.
We went home and made a cup of tea. By then the sad news about Prince Philip came in, so we spent a large part of the afternoon watching TV/BBC about him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.