Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Spot the climbers! Not a very good one, but I took very few as I was busy. 

Both Fi and I began with a bad head day, in other words an inability to lead routes we've done before. "The computer brain, it says no!" But we persevered and I lead a VD I've apparently done for the fifth time now so I was satisfied. Then I persuaded Fi to do a lead which Sam and Jill climbed, but I failed miserably on the crux move, which is right at the start. I just couldn't summon the energy to haul myself up using the edge of a block while having a foot up the wall. Grit can be brutal! 

Then we moved a little to where Tim was with friends and he offered to let us top rope some harder stuff, which was kind in the cold wind, intermittently laden with snow. I was done for, but Fi and Sam did a couple. Sam especially needs to climb harder stuff, he's coming on really well.

It was strange looking at this scene, April Crack on the left and Christmas Crack to the right, because I seconded all the routes around this bit of Stanage when I was quite new to climbing and knew less than nothing. I just climbed what I was told, usually lost my grip at least once, and got to the top without worrying about it. But of course I thought my leader was the bees knees at that point....

I think my continued tiredness weakness is most likely due to the climbing walls being shut and me not doing any strength training to make up for it. But this will be remedied as I've booked at the Unit for friday with a friend anyway, and have now booked tuesday as well. Muscles here we come!

Oh look, here's another view of this area of rock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.