Algae often float on the surface of water

during the day but sink down during the night due to the photosynthesis as many algae liberate oxygen bubbles during daytime which get trapped in bubbles. Fascinating bits of useless information one can gather when researching a Blip. This concrete water trough has'nt been used in over two years as there were no cattle grazing last year due to Covid related restrictions, not this year either. I have'nt spotted any frog/toad spawn at any of the ponds either. There were a group of people on the heath yesterday ringing birds. 3 nets had been erected near where I walked with notices informing the public about the activity. I'd be interested to know which species they caught and ringed. I can always hear Chiff Chaffs calling, but rarely spot them,  the Stonechat use the top of the gorse bushes for their look out so are easier to spot. I managed to get a half decent shot of a female today. Also spotted a fox checking us out through the hedge, & the deer was in the same field as yesterday. Again, legging it, as soon as I attempted to get my camera. The female dipper was down on the waters edge. Back at Mum's we watched the nuthatches in the oak trees over the hedge. 
Earlier I'd  spent an hour on my allotment turning the legume section ready for the first broad bean plants. The sun was warm, but the wind chilly first thing this morning. I picked some purple spouting broccoli for dinner tonight, then headed back. 9am. Time to head down to CK to walk Indie.

Planters planted, excess pots removed. A bag of top soil and some Summer bedding to buy then Mum's garden will be shipshape. Job done!

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday
Back home, lunch then seed sowing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.