Desert Orchid...

To be honest, it could be any sort of orchid (and not a name of a race-horse) and it was in the window, over the back of a very high sofa....(& using natural light)

A grizzly grungy drib-drabby day. dull with rain and so right to the heart of a flower.

Being a guest, I could hardly move the furniture in order to gain access and I had worked my way in from a wider view. Again, the normal (not macro) Nikkor G 85mm f1.8 was the lens and for this I'd added a 12mm extension tube 'segment' that I 'miraculously' had in my pocket (as you do!) to get in even closer. These do not affect image quality but do cut down light, as it has to travel further to reach the sensor.

Never one for Live View, which would not have been clear enough to show the focus on the tiny curl bit on the end, I had the camera several inches in front of me, as I peered awkwardly to try and compose the shot. So, loads of similar-ish ones.

This seemed to convey what I wanted - the extension limits the range and magnification so couldn't get closer than this and had echoes of patterns throughout.

I'm behind with commenting - this is partly due to running another 2TB Western Digital ext hard drive Western Digital which I can thoroughly recommend. This is my THIRD!

The PC has been running a mega back-up which has already taken 24 hours and when it's finished, I will need to leave the PC for a good period, to give it a rest! Not having access to viewing Blips on other media forms means that I will get back to you after that. You know I will!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.